The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

4 posters

Noobie re-building an ST-70

cc43fan
    cc43fan

Noobie re-building an ST-70 Empty Noobie re-building an ST-70

Post by cc43fan Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:10 pm

Hi,
    I'm a relative rookie when it comes to vintage restoration (my first project was restoring a Fisher 500-C). I'm in the process of gathering the parts and info to restore a ST-70. My homework had led me to purchase a VTA driver board. I'd like to hear opinions on the parts list for this board. For example which caps would most use for the coupling caps? Would some use various types of caps throughout the board? The goal is for my choices is to produce the best sound quality.

My research has also led me to think going with an SDS power board will offer more benefits over replacing the multi-cap can (better bass response, longer life, less stress on the power transformer). I've done my best to price out the SDS board and parts separately, and it appears to make sense to purchase the complete kit vs. sourcing the parts myself. I've also read the thread on the "tube rectifier diode mod" and it appears this applies to those using the SDS board, am I correct?

Could those in the know please comment on my thinking? I've been pouring over the threads here, and if my questions have already been answered, I apologize for making more work, but my head is swimming from trying to absorb the knowledge here.
    I'm really looking forward to this project, and if all goes well, I'm expecting this amp to be the daily driver. I would enjoy posting pics of my progress if anyone would like to see.