The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

New tuber! & speaker kits

New tuber! & speaker kits Empty New tuber! & speaker kits

Post by Guest Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:22 am

Just thought I'd do a quick intro!
    I am not new to electronics, used to work in the industry some years back now. But I am relatively new to tube amps.
    In the early 70's, I used to repair b&w tube TV's as a hobby, so its time to get back into it!
    Am about to order the ST70 kit, so am looking forward to the sweet sound of tubes and to listen to my old vinyl's, some dating back to the mid 60's!

On another subject, I am looking for some speakers to go with the ST70, am quite happy to buy in kit form, don't really need a big 'Rolling Stones' set, would appreciate pointers, thank you.
    Brap
    Brap

Post by Brap Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:32 pm

Hey Montana -- have a great time building this kit -- I sure did. Make sure you pop for the upgrades.
    I am running either Klipsch Forte's or Paradigm Studio 10 V5's. Quite the difference in size and sensitivity (97 to 89 respectively) but it all depends on what you want to hear. Horns vs standard upper end. I have a taste for both depending on genre I'm listening to. I do support the low end on the Paradigm's with minor and I mean minor support from a Velodyne sub which is not needed with Forte's. Have not built speakers since college days drunken  but just wanted to give you an idea, size wise. The ST-70 makes them both sound really sweet but different.

New tuber! & speaker kits Empty Re: New tuber! & speaker kits

Post by Guest Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:37 pm

hey Brap,