The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+2
Bob Latino
Pat R.
6 posters

VTA ST 70 Which Tubes can be used

Pat R.
    Pat R.

VTA ST 70 Which Tubes can be used Empty VTA ST 70 Which Tubes can be used

Post by Pat R. Sat Feb 28, 2015 8:50 pm

OK so I'm new to the VTA ST 70.. can my learned colleagues tell me what tubes can be used in this amp?

Both in the front end (mini's) and the output tubes. Now I have the Upgraded Tubes that are offered for the kit.. The EH Big Bottles and the 12AU7's (I think)..

So what tubes can go in the front end and why? I have a surplus of 12bhy for my Cit II and some other similar tubes..

I see where some have used 6L6's in the Back and even KT 88's..

I'd love to see comments and such on what tubes you have used and why? and what you feel the results are.
    Bob Latino
    Bob Latino
    Admin

VTA ST 70 Which Tubes can be used Empty Re: VTA ST 70 Which Tubes can be used

Post by Bob Latino Sat Feb 28, 2015 10:03 pm

Hi Pat,

In the VTA ST-70 you can use ...

As output tubes > EL34, 6L6, KT66, KT77, KT88 or 6550 tubes (note - If you have a STOCK ST-70, I do not recommend the last two > KT88 or 6550 output tubes). The best output tubes in the VTA ST-70 (to my ears) were the Gold Lion KT66's. They are a little on the expensive side at about $160 a quad but are well made tubes ..

As driver tubes > 12AU7, 12BH7, 5963, 5814, 6189 or the Mullard CV4003. Really nice driver tubes are the USA made (RCA, GE or Sylvania) 5963 or 5814 tubes. These are rugged military grade tubes that sound great ...

Bob
    Pat R.
    Pat R.

Post by Pat R. Sun Mar 01, 2015 3:33 pm