The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Dynaco VTA tube amp kits, all Tubes4hifi.com products and all Dynakitparts.com products

Read 'em and Weep

pmarcin

Read 'em and Weep

Post by pmarcin on Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:30 pm

For all fellow tube nerds:
    Review of Poseidon vs vanilla

Enjoyable zoning out.

PeterCapo

Re: Read 'em and Weep

Post by PeterCapo on Wed Jan 27, 2016 3:38 pm

He followed-up here: https://youtu.be/RlQgfETQVEs

peterh

Post by peterh on Wed Jan 27, 2016 3:51 pm

pmarcin wrote:For all fellow tube nerds:
       Review  of Poseidon vs vanilla

Enjoyable zoning out.
    I have two comments :
    1 - i do not use 50w at 20khz in my music listening, the diffs at lower power levels were close to none. The main reason to replace 6an8 is to use some new production tubes imho

2 - nice to se that he likes JJ KT88 , i have been selling them for 2 years now. And yes,
    JJ is made in slovakia, not china!

PeterCapo

Post by PeterCapo on Wed Jan 27, 2016 4:36 pm

In the videos there is no mention of the importance of matching the two 47KΩ resistors found at the phase splitter.  The original Dynaco schematics for the Mark II, Mark III, Mark IV and Stereo 7o asterisked these resistors as needing to be a matched pair, and, for instance, on the Stereo 7o schematic it specifically says a 1% match.  The same goes for the two 100KΩ resistors off of E2 on the original Mark III PC board pertaining to the original biasing scheme, which did not include individual bias adjustment for each power tube.

There’s a third video in this series where respondent "sporadic –Z" mentions the importance of the 47KΩ phase splitter resistors being matched.  In Dynaco Doctor forum, Bill Thomas mentioned it in regard to the Stereo 7o but the same applies to the Mark III http://www.audioasylum.com/forums/dynaco/messages/12/1683.html