The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Dynaco VTA tube amp kits, all Tubes4hifi.com products and all Dynakitparts.com products

High Voltage Quad Cap and Mk3s To Replace or Not...

bubbasweet

High Voltage Quad Cap and Mk3s To Replace or Not...

Post by bubbasweet on Mon Jul 18, 2016 12:02 pm

I have 2 Mk3s that are dated 1959 and 1960 according to bias pots. Both are working well. Zero hum. Do I replace the Quad Cans or leave em.. I remember doing this once on my ST70 and it actually hummed more and I put the original can back. It was an Aero cap. Are the new replacements as good quality as the origial cans? I just hate to fix what ain't broken. I am a tech so I know damn well caps get old and the possible issues it brings. Do they replenish with a lot of use or reform? Curious to hear your thoughts on the issue. Also what current replacement brands are the best. NO Cap salesman please.. lol.

stewdan

Quad Caps

Post by stewdan on Mon Jul 18, 2016 1:12 pm

Hi --- I have rebuilt multiple Mark 3s and the first thing I did was replace the 50+ year old Quad Caps.  You can reform the old caps, but 50 year old capacitors are prone to failure and when they go, they can take out something else.  So, it is cost effective to replace them.