The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

2 posters

Another M125 Build

LeGrace
    LeGrace

Another M125 Build Empty Another M125 Build

Post by LeGrace Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:46 am

KT88's

Another M125 Build Genalex tubes

All important GFI

Another M125 Build GFI

As a complete novice I really appreciated all the great help from Bob Latino and members of this forum. The final result is highly satisfying; listening nirvana.

Things did start out a bit rocky. Went through 10 fuses and two 5AR4 tubes within the first few weeks. If a rectifier even burps it takes out the fuse.  I kept wondering, why is this happening? Turns out there are several rectifiers one can select, some better then others.  Solid state rectifiers like the Weber WZ68 are inexpensive and sturdy. Tube rectifiers are a different animal. Certain older NOS ones such as GZ37, GZ33 have a good reputation for reliability but are expensive. I recently applied the "diode" mod to improve stability when using a current production tube rectifier like the GZ34/5AR4, except I installed heavier duty UF5408 diodes versus IN4007. There is a sticky on this subject on the front page for those interested in tube rectification.

I keep the amps cool with 4 Noctua NFP12 fans connected to a fan controller. At one point had them sitting on the top shelf of my component console but folks kept wanting to touch them!

Anyway, totally enjoying these fabulous amps!
    Dahlberg
    Dahlberg

Another M125 Build Empty Re: Another M125 Build

Post by Dahlberg Mon Oct 10, 2016 4:44 pm

Looks nice Smile How much bias did you give the tubes, and does it get so hot