The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Dynaco VTA tube amp kits, all Tubes4hifi.com products and all Dynakitparts.com products

Volume Control on PAS 2,...at 1 o'clock it starts getting loud

8xlaxx

Volume Control on PAS 2,...at 1 o'clock it starts getting loud

Post by 8xlaxx on Sat Dec 10, 2016 11:37 pm

I'm a newbie to the site.  Extremely informative website!  An asset to the audiophile community, thank you.

Maybe I haven't searched this topic thoroughly on this site but I think, I might not be entering the correct search.  I have a PAS 2 that is unmodified.  Has original tubes inside and it works.  It is driving an unmodified ST-70 (Bias caps and selenium rectifier replaced with diode).

My PAS 2 volume control starts out pretty evenly as I increase gain,...it's not super loud at all through the range until it hits about 12-1 o'clock position then it starts to crank and really show the expression of my speakers.  I saw a brief thread on this topic on another site but no luck on the remedy.

Can a member here assist me in diagnosing what the issue might be?  The control pot is smooth with no crackle, catch, hiss, or pop.  I can live with it but its a little frustrating when I want to hear something at a moderate volume level but not too low.  If the answer is already posted in a thread on the website, please post the link.  

Thank you in advance.
    peterh

Re: Volume Control on PAS 2,...at 1 o'clock it starts getting loud

Post by peterh on Sun Dec 11, 2016 2:40 am

8xlaxx wrote:I'm a newbie to the site.  Extremely informative website!  An asset to the audiophile community, thank you.