The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

5 posters

Stereo 70 Bad Right Channel

misterc57

Stereo 70 Bad Right Channel Empty Stereo 70 Bad Right Channel

Post by misterc57 Sat Mar 11, 2017 2:08 pm

I am new to working on audio amps and to the Stereo 70.  I scored a ST 70 and PAS3 a few days ago and am excited to get it working.  I was told it had one bad channel and it has sat unused for years.

I have been doing a lot of reading on this unit.  It was evident this amp had most if not all the caps updated as well as the selenium rectifier.

After inspection, cleaning, testing tubes, and checking for issues I was ready to turn it on.  I adjusted the bias on both channels.  All tubes are operating.  With my ear to each speaker I can hear a faint hiss on the left speaker, nothing on the right speaker.  

Next I hooked the unit up to a bulb limiter, which is connected to a variac.  

I recorded the following plate voltages.  I am guessing these are lower than expected because I am going through the bulb limiter.  

All 4 output tubes were around 163 VDC.

The left 7199 had 128 VDC at pin 1 and 47 VDC at pin 2.  
    The right 7199 had higher readings; 160 VDC at pin 1 and 80 VDC at pin 2.

When taking these 7199 readings I heard a pop in the speakers when probing each pin except pin 2 of the right side.

I compared every resistor on the driver board.  The only discrepancy I found was on the two large 330K.  Left side was around 350K, right side was 142K.
    So I now suspect that 330K resistor, which I do not have a replacement for at this time.  I do have some 1/2 watt at this value.