The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Dynaco VTA tube amp kits, all Tubes4hifi.com products and all Dynakitparts.com products

Cables Make a Difference

VTHokie83

Cables Make a Difference

Post by VTHokie83 on Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:12 am

First off, I have 2 sets of Thiel speakers....both of which are extremely unforgiving, but incredibly rewarding when getting them right. I tried different interconnects and speaker cables over the past couple of years, even some pure silver cables. Even after letting them "burn in" for a couple of weeks, most sounded harsh and a bit bright. I'm not good at explaining the sound with flowery comments like "spatial, sound stage, airy" etc...so your mileage may vary.

I finally settled on Morrow Audio for the digital and analog interconnects, and AntiCables speaker cables. Yes they were difficult at first, but mellowed out and are near perfect in the current set up....however the cables took a few weeks (I believe the speaker cables were the culprit) to burn in, patience was needed.

Thiel CS1.5 & CS2.3 Speakers, Bob Latino VTA ST-120 Tube Amp with cap upgrades and stepped attenuator, NOS Volex 17604 power cord, Morrow MA1 & DIG1 Interconnects, AntiCables Level 2.1 Speaker Cables, Onkyo C-7030 CD, Maverick Audio TubeMagic D2 DAC, Grado SR80i and Sennheiser HD558 headphones, and Schiit Magni headphone amp.
    bluemeanies

Re: Cables Make a Difference

Post by bluemeanies on Fri Jul 13, 2018 12:08 pm

I am not a BELIEVER in esoteric cables but that is MO. In this hobby there are many flavors to satisfy all taste buds.
    My experience comes from owning many different cables starting (when I was a young blood) lamp cord cable. My cornucopia has been MONSTER CABLE, BJC, MORROW, MIT TERMINATOR ll, AUDIOQUEST and now NAKAMICHI SPEAKER cable.