The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Dynaco VTA tube amp kits, all Tubes4hifi.com products and all Dynakitparts.com products

Starting first restore

ttownscott

Starting first restore

Post by ttownscott on Sun Aug 12, 2018 3:31 pm

I started posting in pics, but since I have some questions around resistors, posting here as well.

Like many I had a Dynaco ST-70 in my youth. I was given one in college and used it all throughout and then left it with one of my roommates when I graduated.

Now I'm a bit nostalgic and decided I wanted to fit one into my system. Doing a search and wow. These guys are expensive! Looks like free was out of the question, but I found one without tubes for $330 and I actually have a matched set of EL34's for a different amp anyway.

So after research, I realize there are some first things first, such as replacing the selenium rectifier and upgrading the cap. I ordered the bias kit and a quad cap from Dynakitparts and will check the transformers. Then I plan on striping everything off the chassis and cleaning it up and repainting the transformers. I am optimistic based on the other posts I have seen.

This is not going to be a VTA70 build. I would like to build one of the VTA120 or M-125 sets after this though. I will just use one of the ebay 6GH8A boards to keep it as stock as possible.

I would like to get a recommendation of what chassis resisters to use if I replace them and where is a good place to buy them. I am also on the fence about weather it is necessary to use new tube sockets or retension and re-use the existing ones.

I got these values from the following article.
    https://www.hifizine.com/2010/06/restoring-dynaco-st-70/

QuantityValueDescriptionSourcePart Number
    210 ohm10 ohm resistor on power socket????????
    215.6 ohmsprecision resistor (for bias set)Dynakitparts.comBRWW-15D6