The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

4 posters

Dynaco ST70 bias issue - solved !

wrayman

Dynaco ST70 bias issue - solved ! Empty Dynaco ST70 bias issue - solved !

Post by wrayman Wed Oct 16, 2019 2:10 pm

Hi all,

I have the tubes4hifi Classic board installed. Excellent sound. Mishap as follows
    Installed quad of 6CA7's with the #6 pin intact.
    The V3 tube flared and died minutes after biasing to 40ma. Blew the fuse also.
    Reinstalled quad of EL34( no 6 pin). V3 tube lights up, but reads 0.00 on meter. All other tubes are able to be biased.
    As a bonus, there is an audible transformer buzz, not present before.
    Any ideas on what has happened ? I'm not technically inclined and will need a tech to interpret, LOL
    Thanks ! Mike
    peterh
    peterh

Dynaco ST70 bias issue - solved ! Empty Re: Dynaco ST70 bias issue - solved !

Post by peterh Wed Oct 16, 2019 2:36 pm

wrayman wrote:Hi all,

I have the tubes4hifi Classic board installed. Excellent sound. Mishap as follows
    Installed quad of 6CA7's with the #6 pin intact.
    The V3 tube flared and died minutes after biasing to 40ma. Blew the fuse also.
    Reinstalled quad of EL34( no 6 pin). V3 tube lights up, but reads 0.00 on meter. All other tubes are able to be biased.
    As a bonus, there is an audible transformer buzz, not present before.
    Any ideas on what has happened ? I'm not technically inclined and will need a tech to interpret, LOL
    Thanks ! Mike
    The cathode resistor ( assuming you have individual bias resistors) is broken, happens easily when a tube flashes. And yes, it should break, it acts as a fast
    fuse to protect output transformer. Replace with similar.