The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

3 posters

poking my toe in the water

ascheffling@gmail.com

poking my toe in the water Empty poking my toe in the water

Post by ascheffling@gmail.com Sat Dec 21, 2019 2:43 pm

i'm a newbie here as well as being computer stupid.  do you welcome solid state people?  i know the arguments already but a.) i've had a PAT4 since i built it in the '70s and b.) i'm too poor to ante up to tubes. i grew up in the music and sound reenforcement business, i still like the audio sound of the '60s and '70s, that slightly brittle bite from altec 288 and 299 drivers and well, change don't come easy.  i have a problem with a PAT4 i just bought a few days ago and i need to talk to somebody smarter than me.  i can slobber with the best of 'em but theory and engineering has me out in the weeds.   i've been talking to a repair kit seller who knows his stuff but i don't want to wear out my welcome there.   do any of you know how to plumb the depths of a PAT4 without throwing too many rocks at a solid stater?  Al s.
    Bob Latino
    Bob Latino
    Admin

poking my toe in the water Empty Re: poking my toe in the water

Post by Bob Latino Sat Dec 21, 2019 2:56 pm