The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+5
GP49
DynakitParts
Sal
Bob Latino
Clik2media
9 posters

selenium rectifier

Clik2media
    Clik2media

selenium rectifier Empty selenium rectifier

Post by Clik2media Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:06 pm

Hello group, newbie here and owner of a number of Dynaco peices, 70's Mk111'S FM's etc. I am starting a remod on one of my ST-70's and I am getitng confusing info on selenium rectifiers, what is the best route to replace this seemingly obvious replacement part.

thnx
    Bob Latino
    Bob Latino
    Admin

selenium rectifier Empty RE: Replacing a selenium rectifier with a diode

Post by Bob Latino Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:46 pm

The best thing to do is to remove the selenium rectifier and replace it with a UF007 diode. What you do is take out the selenium rectifier and replace it with a two lug terminal strip. Run the RED/BLACK wire to one lug on the terminal strip. Run the wire from lug 4 of the 7 lug terminal strip to the OTHER lug on your new 2 lug terminal strip. Place the diode with the BANDED end of the diode on the lug where the RED/BLACK wire is connected and the other end of the diode on the other lug of the 2 lug terminal strip and then solder the two connections.