The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Dynaco VTA tube amp kits, all Tubes4hifi.com products and all Dynakitparts.com products

selenium rectifier

Clik2media

selenium rectifier

Post by Clik2media on Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:06 pm

Hello group, newbie here and owner of a number of Dynaco peices, 70's Mk111'S FM's etc. I am starting a remod on one of my ST-70's and I am getitng confusing info on selenium rectifiers, what is the best route to replace this seemingly obvious replacement part.

thnx

Bob Latino
    Admin

RE: Replacing a selenium rectifier with a diode

Post by Bob Latino on Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:46 pm

The best thing to do is to remove the selenium rectifier and replace it with a UF007 diode. What you do is take out the selenium rectifier and replace it with a two lug terminal strip. Run the RED/BLACK wire to one lug on the terminal strip. Run the wire from lug 4 of the 7 lug terminal strip to the OTHER lug on your new 2 lug terminal strip. Place the diode with the BANDED end of the diode on the lug where the RED/BLACK wire is connected and the other end of the diode on the other lug of the 2 lug terminal strip and then solder the two connections.

Sometimes after a change from the selenium rectifier to the diode SOME amps will require a change in the resistors on the 7 lug terminal strip in order to bias the amp properly. Usually the easiest thing to do is to replace the two 10 K resistors between lugs 1 and 2 and lugs 3 and 4 with two 5 K resistors. This resistor change should get your two bias potentiometers into the proper range. Resistors of a lower value may be needed due to the difference in forward current flow of a diode vs. the selenium rectifier.

Another note - You can get the proper diode, resistors and a terminal strip at any local Radio Shack.

Bob

Clik2media

Re: selenium rectifier

Post by Clik2media on Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:34 pm