The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

5 posters

Could it be my imagination?

Could it be my imagination? Empty Could it be my imagination?

Post by Guest Wed Mar 04, 2020 7:58 pm

I compared my ST-120 to my Pass Lab X-a25, I have to say, it very very close, but, I think the ST-120 has the edge, especially on the piano.
    Bob Latino
    Bob Latino
    Admin

Could it be my imagination? Empty Re: Could it be my imagination?

Post by Bob Latino Wed Mar 04, 2020 8:21 pm

music wrote:I compared my ST-120 to my Pass Lab X-a25, I have to say, it very very close, but, I think the ST-120 has the edge, especially on the piano.

Roy and I have been saying this for the last 14 years or so .. The VTA amps and preamps are comparable or better than amps and preamps costing 5X what you would pay for kit versions of similar VTA products. Yes - they may not have the bandwidth or ultra low distortion levels of similar powered solid state gear but they just sound "right". Your Pass Lab X-a25 costs $5K and the VTA ST-120 kit (with a complete tube set is less than $1.2K. Read at the link below where a VTA M-125 owner is going to kick an expensive Krell amp to the curb in favor of a pair of our VTA M-125 monoblock amps. Even his wife noticed the difference !

VTA M-125's replacing a Krell amp

Bob

Last edited by Bob Latino on Sun Mar 22, 2020 8:25 am; edited 1 time in total
    Brap
    Brap

Post by Brap Thu Mar 05, 2020 1:35 pm