The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

2 posters

Help identify mods st70 (pic)…

opti-mos pat

Help identify mods st70 (pic)… Empty Help identify mods st70 (pic)…

Post by opti-mos pat Thu Nov 04, 2010 8:41 am

I just picked up this amp about a month or so ago and I’m new to tube amps….. I wanted to listen to it before I start playing with it…. Anyway I finally got to look at what was done to it, other then what the guy that sold it to me said it had… I see that it has the cap board by SDS and an upgraded PT and the old Dynaco OPT with the cloth leads …. VTA driver board…. New input/output terminals...Power cord with the ground attached to the chassis? (No hum at all) I thought I read somewhere not to use that ground wire?

Now, I want to put the triode/pentode switches and what I need to know is….Can you tell if this amp is wired in pentode mode or is it wired in triode mode by looking at the pics? Can I just use Bob’s instructions to install the switches?

Do you see anything else? Are there some other things you would change by looking at the pics?
    Can you tell if he used good caps/parts?

https://2img.net/h/i161.photobucket.com/albums/t234/c4pc/Dynaco/FILE0336.jpg
    Bob Latino
    Bob Latino
    Admin

Help identify mods st70 (pic)… Empty Re: Help identify mods st70 (pic)…

Post by Bob Latino Thu Nov 04, 2010 9:07 am