The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Dynaco VTA tube amp kits, all products and all products

Newbie - 1st post

Newbie - 1st post

Post by mantha3 on Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:15 pm

I own a Pocked Digital Multi meeter (22 Range, Voltage, Current, Resistance, Full Auto Range, Diode test) Will this work for setting Bias?

PS I am new to this and have not yet even built the amp.

I purchased an ST-120 about 4 weeks ago. I got the unassembled kit, upgraded caps, stepped attenuator.

I also purchased the KT88 Gold Lions (new issue), Mullard 12AT7 (one for center), Phillips 12AT7 (Left and Right), Sovtek 5AR4 and a Webber Copper Cap WZ68.

I recently moved to a new home… Wife and kids keep me busy. I'm planning to use some vacation time from work to dedicate to the build. I put some money into the Amp and Tubes so I want to have the home clear of wife and kids for the build… do it right. So I'm getting all the things In need in place.

I have -
    AMP ST120
    Weller 45 Watt Soldering iron and electronics solder
    Meeter I mention above.
    Tool kit

Bob Latino

Re: Newbie - 1st post

Post by Bob Latino on Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:45 pm

Hi Mantha3, and welcome to the Dynaco Tube Audio Forum,

The multimeter you have will work just fine for checking and setting the bias on your ST-120. Some mulitmeter's are "auto ranging" where you just place the black probe on the chassis (ground) and the red probe at the bias measuring point. That tube's bias will read out on your meter. If your meter is not autoranging then set the meter on the DC SCALE to 0-2 volts when you measure bias.

The bias pots on your amp will work in reverse of a volume control. When you want to turn the bias DOWN, turn the bias pot in a CLOCKWISE direction. When you want to turn the bias UP, turn the bias control in a COUNTERCLOCKWISE direction.

Post by bigmm79 on Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:52 pm