The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Dynaco VTA tube amp kits, all Tubes4hifi.com products and all Dynakitparts.com products

Oscilloscope Specs. Question

merlot

Oscilloscope Specs. Question

Post by merlot on Sat May 07, 2011 10:18 am

I am looking at purchasing an oscilloscope. Specifically I am looking at the Rigol DS1052E. It costs about $400 (not too expensive) and seems to get good reviews. I've never used one before but have always wanted one. I want to learn more about them and will use it with my ST-70 and ST-120s. I will also be purchasing one of Roy's preamps once I figure out what I want.

The specs are here:

http://www.rigolna.com/products/digital-oscilloscopes/ds1000e/ds1052e/

I am not sure how to read the specs and my question is this: The voltages in the amps are around say 500v. The input on the scope has a limit of 300v. There is a 10x attenuation switch on the probe. Can I use this oscilloscope to measure voltages etc. in the amps? Anything else I should think about?

Appreciate your thoughts.

j4570

Re: Oscilloscope Specs. Question

Post by j4570 on Sun May 08, 2011 8:56 pm

I think for the amateur hobbyist, you are better served with a used Tektronix or similiar. I picked one up because like you, I always wanted one. Used them in college a little, and know the very basics.