The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

3 posters

ST-120 kit

pscottlowe

ST-120 kit  Empty ST-120 kit

Post by pscottlowe Mon Sep 19, 2011 8:56 pm

I think I need an ST-120 .I have been using an St-70 with my LaScalla for 2 years now and think I need an ST-120 .can an inexperienced guy build this or is that out of the question ? .I realy think this would complement my system:dynaco PAS #3 pre amp ,dynaco ST-70 amp LaScalla, Thorens tdk-146 with grado cartridge and a Denon DCD-1000 Also chorus heresy and just got an excellent deal on a pair or cornscalla . THX Scott
    WntrMute2
    WntrMute2

ST-120 kit  Empty Re: ST-120 kit

Post by WntrMute2 Tue Sep 20, 2011 11:08 am

I would whole-heartedly recommend this kit! I was a novice kit builder and mine went together easily (Maybe not for Bob). I did know which end of the soldering iron is hot but that's about it. I bought a couple of cheap circuit board kits from Radio Shack and practiced on those first. Drove my wife crazy with those flashing christmas trees around. I know next to nothing about electronics or circuits but the amp fired up first time. Also, Bob's kit is just superb, just add solder, a very small soldering pencil or station, some appropriate wire cutters and tiny needle nose pliers. Wife couldn't pry me back upstairs for 2 weeks or so. Listening to "The Concert for Bangladesh" right now and it sounds great.
    Bob Latino
    Bob Latino
    Admin

Post by Bob Latino Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:17 pm