The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+2
corndog71
Maintarget
6 posters

Tube Substitution Guide book

Maintarget
    Maintarget

Tube Substitution Guide book Empty Tube Substitution Guide book

Post by Maintarget Sat Sep 28, 2013 2:19 pm

I'm new to tube equipment and recently completed a ST-120 amplifier with about 20 hours on it.
    It has been a very rewarding experience and great source of achievement for me not to mention it sounds unbelievable.
    I inherited from my father a couple of tube testers and found a small book inside one of them titled "1966 tube caddy" Tube Substitution Guidebook.
    I'm trying to educate my self on tube rolling and found it interesting that this book lists direct substitutions only and ranks them by E=Excellent or G-Good and has sections listed for Receiving, Commercial & Industrial, American-Foreign tubes.
    I have seen the recent posts and understand this is a subjective topic and should let my ears guide me as to what sounds good however after looking at many reputable dealers, private parties and on e bay I could invest a substantial amount of money without hitting audio bliss so would this be a good starting guide?
    I have the kit supplied 5814 installed and while the amp sounds great it does sound a little bright to me, the sub book lists them as excellent so do I need to be patient until I have 100 hours or more to see if they smooth out?
    If anyone is interested in the info from the book I would be happy to photo and post sections for them as time allows.
    Thanks

https://s1325.photobucket.com/user/RoscoeAJones/media/photo1_zpsa118a73b.jpg.html?sort=3&o=0