The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

3 posters

Self Intro

kimla

Self Intro Empty Self Intro

Post by kimla Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:26 pm

I am new to the Dynaco Tube Audio Forum, but I have a long history with Dynaco amps. I
    Bought my first one in the late '60s when I was still in my teens. On the advice of a good
    friend, who was finishing up his EE degree at the time, and had already designed and built
    his own amp, I purchased a pair of used, kit Mark IV's and a PAS-3 preamp. Hooked them up
    to a pair of AR34 speakers, and enjoyed them for years, before I sold them, some 10 years
    later. In the 80's I bought a Dynaco factory built IC amp, that I used for years before it
    was murdered by an unfortunate series of events. Since then, I've been using a Carver amp,
    for the most part.
    In the late 90's a friend at work gave me an old kit built ST70 and another PAS-3 preamp.
    This is the amp I'm currently working to restore.
    I am not particularly electronics literate... My background is in concrete construction, and
    more recently, I eeked out a degree in Mechanical Engineering, and I now design and build
    process control systems.
    But I'm not afraid to tackle new things, and I enjoy the do-ing, and the music when it's done. I'm looking forward to getting the
    ST70 hooked up and running.
    One more note... I've been using Dynakitparts.com as a resource for parts for this project,
    and I want to complement Kevin for the great service he has provided. Absolutely THE first
    place I look, and would recommend for parts.
    Happy Listening!
    wolverine