The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

5 posters

Bias instructions for VTA ST-120

jplunkettj

Bias instructions for  VTA ST-120 Empty Bias instructions for VTA ST-120

Post by jplunkettj Fri Jan 22, 2021 3:40 pm

I just received a used ST-120 amp and was wondering if there are any instruction videos available to take me through the biasing process.  This is the first piece of tube equipment that i have ever owned, so i am a complete novice.   I have watched a video for an ST-70 and understand the process, but my amp may be slightly customized to accomodate its wood case.  It has a wood surround and blue levers on the top of the amp next to the 4 KT 88 tube slots. I assume these are for biasing instead of the stock version?  Can anyone verify this for me? Any help is appreciated.  
    Thanks!
    peterh
    peterh

Bias instructions for  VTA ST-120 Empty Re: Bias instructions for VTA ST-120

Post by peterh Fri Jan 22, 2021 5:56 pm

jplunkettj wrote:I just received a used ST-120 amp and was wondering if there are any instruction videos available to take me through the biasing process.  This is the first piece of tube equipment that i have ever owned, so i am a complete novice.   I have watched a video for an ST-70 and understand the process, but my amp may be slightly customized to accomodate its wood case.  It has a wood surround and blue levers on the top of the amp next to the 4 KT 88 tube slots. I assume these are for biasing instead of the stock version?  Can anyone verify this for me? Any help is appreciated.  
    Thanks!
    Does'nt the seller provided documentation ? If not ask for it!

Post by Guest Fri Jan 22, 2021 10:41 pm