The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+3
Dave_in_Va
peterh
NSacchetti
7 posters

Modified Dynaco ST70

NSacchetti

Modified Dynaco ST70 Empty Modified Dynaco ST70

Post by NSacchetti Sat Oct 02, 2021 4:10 pm

Dear all,

I will get my hands on this modified st70 soon.   As Im a newbie in hi-hi audio and Dynaco as well, I will be glad if you guys can help me with some tips concerning upgrading the amp.  Also would like your opinion concerning current changes already made on the aplifier.

Well, looking at VTA upgrades, I would like to understand what kind of changes can I expect between original type board x upgraded VTA ST70 board with 3 tubes instead the 2 original 7199.

Also, concerning VTA upraded boards, what are the differences between classic 12AU7 board x octal 6SN7 board. Is it possible to hear any real audio change when comparing both?

PS: I live in Sao Paulo-Brasil and current outlet voltage is 127Vac. Any transformer change is needed if I decide to go with 6SN7 octal board?

All help is welcome, thank you very much!!

Modified Dynaco ST70 Dynaco10
    Modified Dynaco ST70 Dynaco11
    peterh
    peterh

Modified Dynaco ST70 Empty Re: Modified Dynaco ST70

Post by peterh Sat Oct 02, 2021 4:56 pm

I think you can use the original config with just as much sound quality.
    The picture , is this your amp ?  
    Don't you have any tubes ? 7199 is scarce and expensive but can be replaced by ecf80/6bl8 ecf82/6u8
    with a simple adapter that changes the pin-out.  You may also cut and reconnect 3 pins on the