The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+2
EWALAA
Mission
6 posters

NOOB Here...

Mission
    Mission

NOOB Here... Empty NOOB Here...

Post by Mission Sat Nov 20, 2021 8:49 pm

Hello,
     NOOB here. I've been jackin' around for several years with different audio and video. It's a hobby that comes and goes. Recently I picked up a very sweet Dynakit Mark III. It's cookin' on the variac as I bring her back up. I'll be around a bit lurking trying to take in some info. This thing is so beautiful in the elegant minimalist look. I love it. I have a Harman Kardon Festival as well. I've been wanting one of these separates for a long time and well, I picked this one up. Since I haven't happened upon a stereo unit, looks like I'll be needing another one of these. I'll be pushing Altec A5's. I'll be around bugging you guys if you don't mind and post a picture when I get her running.
    Mission
    Mission

NOOB Here... Empty Re: NOOB Here...

Post by Mission Sun Nov 21, 2021 12:41 am

Well, so much for that. The can started leaking at 90 volts.
    EWALAA

Post by EWALAA Sun Nov 21, 2021 12:24 pm

Find another one and start the rebuild process. They’re worth the effort.

Mission likes this post

wildiowa

Post by wildiowa Sun Nov 21, 2021 1:44 pm

I have two Mark III’s and an ST-70 I may be ready to part with. Send me a PM I have not used the message option much but think I can pick it up here.
    vtshopdog
    vtshopdog

Post by vtshopdog Sun Nov 21, 2021 6:25 pm

By “can started leaking” do you mean the multi cap is bad?