The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

5 posters

The Truth about the M125 Mono Blocks from a novice

shaunst

The Truth about the M125 Mono Blocks from a novice Empty The Truth about the M125 Mono Blocks from a novice

Post by shaunst Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:55 pm

So, let me start by giving you a quote I gave Bob in my first email:

"I have little confidence these amps will actually work"

Why? I am a complete novice and have not built anything electrical of this nature.

My first M125 build was tough for me ..

However, that being said, it is not impossible either, and a complete novice, with patience and upfront understanding of the level of effort required, can COMFORTABLY build these amps.

Build Time: 1st amp - 20 hours, 2nd amp - 10 (maybe 12) hours. Much better on the second amp... experience, even a little, on soldering will help. 80% of your build time is soldering.... get an old radio and solder the bejessus out of it. Also, get TWO 30 watt soldering pencils, my biggest mistake was not moving over to a new iron when my soldering got messy and ugly.

I finished my two block build in about 7 days, including pretty much solid over a weekend. I wish I had taken it slower... enjoyed the journey more. Biggest piece of advice if you are not a regular DIY electronics builder... SLOW DOWN, GO SLOW.

Now, to my amazement, shock and AWE, BOTH of these amp fired up FIRST TIME and worked prefectly! Eating my words above! :0)

As to the sound/quality/performance
    - The amps have been playing for 2 hours, so expect they will improve as everything 'settles in'
    - Cannot perceive much difference in triode mode?