The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+2
turbotoy
kygeezer
6 posters

New Member FM-3 problems

kygeezer

New Member FM-3 problems Empty New Member FM-3 problems

Post by kygeezer Fri Nov 30, 2012 3:49 pm

Thid seems like a great forum! I've been browsing it for several days and just registered today. I've been building kits, etc for over 50 years, but drifted away from tubes. Now that I am 75, I have seen the light and returned to tubes. Recently, I installed the Welborne mod to a Stereo 70, and it opened my ears to detail I had not heard on many of my CDs, LPs, Reel tapes, etc. I ordered the PAS 3 upgrade from Roy and am 75% done - waiting for some parts. To make the switch complete (I was already using Dynaco A-25s) I just received factory built FM-3. It sounds very good, but the reception is only fair. Yhe only station I frequent is a low power university classical music station. anyway, I checked all the tubes on my Hickok 600A and they are all good. Now for the real mystery - I did not disturbe the eye tube (EMM801 I think from memory), As soon as I turned the tuner on, the eye did not close (previously it closed all the way) and the R in stereo is not lit. Is this a coincidence, or what?
    Second Queastion: can someone recommend a good (not too expensive) indoor Antenna?
    I plan to upgrade with the FM-3 Zone PEC and power supply later. Yes, I do have a spare eye tube, but am hesitant to use it until I finish all mods.
    I really appreciate all of your help, as I have seen the response to similar problems. Thank you!
    turbotoy

New Member FM-3 problems Empty Re: New Member FM-3 problems

Post by turbotoy Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:34 am