The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

3 posters

VTA-70 Clone build - Power caps question.

JeffYoung

VTA-70 Clone build - Power caps question. Empty VTA-70 Clone build - Power caps question.

Post by JeffYoung Tue Sep 29, 2015 12:03 am

Hi everyone...

I am planning on building a ST-70 clone and have a question regarding the B+ capacitors.  I have some experience building guitar tube amps, but this will my first foray into HiFi.  I am planning on using a VTA-70 (octal) driver board.  For rectification, I'll be using a solid state board design that I have used in the past for guitar tube amps and a VTA-TDR to let the tubes warm up before B+ is applied.

I have a CE 80/40/30/20 cap can or a blank Triode ST-70 cap board that I can use.  I'm not real happy with the 525v limit of the CE can... especially since I am using a SS rectifier.

My question(s) are as follows...

Since I am not using a tube rectifier, then I'm not limited to 40-60uF for stage 1, am l?

Are my concerns about the 525 voltage limit of the 80/40/30/20 justified?  

If the 80/40/30/20 is OK (voltage wise), would I be better to use the 80uF for the 1st stage, 40uF for 2nd, ..... Etc? Or should I connect it the standard 40/80/30/20 way? (With guitar amps, we 'usually' have the higher uF caps for the first stage, the lower ones for the following stages, when using SS rectifier)

If the CE cap can is NOT the best solution, What would the 'best' capacitance for stages 1 through 4 be?   I can populate the Triode board with whatever radial caps (within reason) to come up the best uF for stages 1 through 4, and increase the voltage limit.

Or.... Do you have a better solution?