The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+3
Peter W.
WLT
Cav Trooper
7 posters

Cav Trooper

New Member Empty New Member

Post by Cav Trooper Wed Dec 26, 2018 1:04 pm

Hi everyone, I'm new to vacuum tube amps but not to vacuum tube technology.

I recently purchased a Dynakit ST70 on eBay. It is somewhat "modded" (speaker connection receptacles, tubes changed, knurled knobs for bias adjustment, etc)

I know I'll learn a lot here as I am sure very member of this forum knows more about Dynaco amps (and vacuum tube amps) than I.

I wanted a vacuum tube (analog) system to check my speakers out. I design and manufacture speakers as a "day" job.

In the spirit of learning I will look forward to suggestions, tips, questions, etc.

Looking forward to being a member

Last edited by Cav Trooper on Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:22 am; edited 1 time in total
    WLT
    WLT

New Member Empty Re: New Member

Post by WLT Wed Dec 26, 2018 1:35 pm

Welcome. You will find this forum is very knowledgeable and diverse. That also means we do not always agree on many issues for (usually) good reasons.

Good luck with your amp project and I am sure you will enjoy the results mated to your day job work. One thing to decide on. Do you want to restore the amp to as close to original as possible or to modify/upgrade it? Both have their advantages and you will find a healthy discussion from this group on the merits of each. Two major items to investigate are replacement of all capacitors and adjusting the bias for longer output tube life.

Check out the photo section of this forum. Nice work by many of the forum. You have to leave the basket section to get there.

Peter W.
    Peter W.