The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+11
solderblob
Roy Mottram
corndog71
AmpedUp
pedrocols
dmoorecincy
MechEngVic
audiobill
StevieRay
Rockitdog
Midwestside
15 posters

Digital / streaming setup

Midwestside
    Midwestside

Digital / streaming setup Empty Digital / streaming setup

Post by Midwestside Sat Jul 11, 2020 4:32 pm

While I listen to Vinyl about 80% of the time, I sometimes like to stream at my computer , etc.
    I am a total noob to 'optimal' digital setups. I have read about adding DACs to your laptop or whatever,
    I've tried 3.5 to rca out from laptop and phone with mediocre results.
    im looking to setup a small footprint, high quality solution in my main listening area.
    Basically looking for a quick and dirty on equipment and where to get high quality .flac, etc.
    Rockitdog

Digital / streaming setup Empty Re: Digital / streaming setup

Post by Rockitdog Sat Jul 11, 2020 7:04 pm

I would recommend checking out DACs from Schiit www.schiit.com  I'm using their $99 Modi 3 DAC for streaming from Apple TV via optical audio out of TV and using the coaxial digital input for CD player into my VTA ST-70.  I haven't used the USB input yet but supposedly plug and play with Windows 10 or Mac OSX 10.7 and up.  Very small footprint as well.

Last edited by Rockitdog on Sun Jul 12, 2020 9:29 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : fixed link to Schiit.)
    StevieRay

Post by StevieRay Sat Jul 11, 2020 8:26 pm

I use the Schiit Modi Multibit ($249), but the Modi 3 at $99 is probably the best bang for the buck.