The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

3 posters

Dynaco SCA-35 hum/ground issue

Vimmy
    Vimmy

Dynaco SCA-35 hum/ground issue Empty Dynaco SCA-35 hum/ground issue

Post by Vimmy Thu Nov 04, 2021 2:44 pm

Hi everyone!

I'm new to the tube-world (and to this forum). I recently aquired a Dynaco SCA-35 that has a hum/ground issue. It worked fine at the sellers place, although he only demostrated the unit playing Radio and CD - but assured the Phono-stage was just as flawless.

At home I hook up my turntable and immediately there is a hum/ground issue present in both speakers. It increases past 12 'o clock on the volume knob. And goes way by unplugging the turntable (both power and rca-cables). No hum/ground issue present when on Tape/Radio/Spare. I begin with cleaning the unit from dust and Deoxit all pots & tube sockets. That didn't help (but well overdue).

So it's narrowed down to the Phono-stage. So how should I proceed? It has the original tubes from when it was assembled. Should I begin with two new sets of 12AX7 tubes? Or could this be a "deeper" problem? Longterm I'm planning on upgrading this unit with available mods. But for now I just need this hum/ground issue to disappear. Any thoughts? Smile

Edit: I forgot to clarify that the hum is present at Phono with nothing connected as well.
    peterh
    peterh

Dynaco SCA-35 hum/ground issue Empty Re: Dynaco SCA-35 hum/ground issue

Post by peterh Thu Nov 04, 2021 5:00 pm

Vimmy wrote:Hi everyone!