The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

4 posters

SP10 problem =(

martyingels

SP10 problem =( Empty SP10 problem =(

Post by martyingels Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:57 pm

Hi all! I just finished building Roy's SP10 preamp and there is practically no gain. The line stage tubes (I tried both 12AU7s and 12BH7s) don't light at all and I can barely here the music, even with the potentiometer cranked to 11.

Has anyone else built this preamp? Any ideas on what I should check? I'm just a newbie and a hobbyist, but I've built one of Roy's phono preamps without any problems and I'm pretty sure I've got this one wired correctly as well.

Any ideas / help will be much appreciated!

Thanks!
    martyingels

SP10 problem =( Empty Re: SP10 problem =(

Post by martyingels Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:17 pm

I should have mentioned too - the power supply side of the PCB seems to be fine. The 12X4 glows properly, so I know it's getting AC. The B+ voltage seems fine too, since I shocked the hell out of myself touching the B+ solder connection on the line stage side of the PCB. I checked to make sure the F+ / F- jumper was wired correctly and it seems to be too... *scratching head*
    Roy Mottram
    Roy Mottram
    Admin

Post by Roy Mottram Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:41 pm

Hi Marty,
    email me directly, as no one else has this exact version, although the circuit is identical to my SP6 and Zmod circuits.
    You should have 24v across F+ to F-, about 290vdc on B+, and 145vdc on pin 3 of V4 (junction of R25 and R28) as the schematic shows.
    If that's all correct, it should work perfect with lots of gain!
    Roy info@tubes4hifi.com
    GP49

Post by GP49 Thu Jun 21, 2012 12:23 am

martyingels wrote: