The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+6
Maintarget
sKiZo
Zimmer64
Laminarman
Bob Latino
DrZ123
10 posters

First Timer...Seriously

DrZ123

First Timer...Seriously Empty First Timer...Seriously

Post by DrZ123 Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:24 am

When I was younger I dabbled in remote control model construction, which involved some very minimal soldering.  Currently I am a dentist so I have the hand skills...BUT...I just got my ST-120 kit from BOB and it is going to be an adventure to say the least!

Last night I began my work with about 1.5 hours to attach everything to the chassis.  The only problems I ran into so far are
    1. A missing nut to hold on the fuse holder (which I should be able to grab from Radio Shack)
    2. The quadrouple section filter capacitor, with the mounting pins twisted 1/4 turn, doesn't seem that tight to the chassis, it wiggles a little. I attempted to trist the pins a little more but almost broke one off so I stopped!
    3. Any advice on soldering?  I am far from an expert...

Any advice on #2 and #3 would be appreciated.  Also, I love Bob's instructions thus far and I not having trouble following them, but would also like to understand WHAT each component does and why it is wired the way it is.  Any good resource to learn that?

Photos to come...

First Timer...Seriously Empty Re: First Timer...Seriously

Post by Guest Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:24 pm

Last edited by PeterCapo on Wed Dec 02, 2020 2:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
    DrZ123

Post by DrZ123 Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:28 pm