The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+5
Jbacik
Bob Latino
Dale Stevens
Roy Mottram
JayMX
9 posters

Guidance needed for a beginner - Mark II restoration ?'s

JayMX

Guidance needed for a beginner - Mark II restoration ?'s Empty Guidance needed for a beginner - Mark II restoration ?'s

Post by JayMX Thu Feb 20, 2020 11:57 am

So this is my first post here.  Browsing a little, I'm amazed by the depth of knowledge and resources!  Seems like this is the right place to go with questions...  I've messed with a little Dynaco stuff previously, but for all intents and purposes I'm a complete noob when it comes to tube gear.  This dirty pair came to my house the other night.  I'm pretty sure they're both MK-II's, but they've been fooled with.  Absolutely not mirrors of each other...  I'd love some suggestions about the best procedures to refurbish, rebuild, etcetera.  What's the "right" path if there is one?  I'm handy with a soldering iron and have cleaned up/repaired a lot of other vintage stereo equipment (mostly solid state) and speakers, but I'm ready and willing to learn more!

https://i.servimg.com/u/f39/20/16/68/95/img_8210.jpg - sorry I'm not familiar with the forum's UI - can't get this photo to rotate...