The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

3 posters

ST70 el34 bias low

directmetalmonster

ST70 el34 bias low Empty ST70 el34 bias low

Post by directmetalmonster Sat Oct 23, 2021 3:34 pm

Hey everyone,

First time posting, also a first time dynaco user. I am a noob from a tech/electrical standpoint for transparency haha. This is my first dynaco st 70 which was built brand new by Kenny Russell from Funtastic Vintronics. It's a beautiful piece. Anyway, I have been running the amp and it has been performing beautifully since I received it back in April of this year. I decided to do some tube rolling and installed a matched quad of mullard reissue el34's purchased from upscale audio. When I went to bias I noticed the reading was quite low at .40v and was told by the builder that it should be adjusted to between 1.4-1.56 vdc for each side but the bias pot maxes out at 1.2 vdc both sides. I take it thar this is not normal? I understand some tubes have different biases but kinda at a loss of understanding tbh. Hopefully some more experienced minds can shed some insights?

Thanks in advance

Justin
    Bob Latino
    Bob Latino
    Admin

ST70 el34 bias low Empty Re: ST70 el34 bias low

Post by Bob Latino Sat Oct 23, 2021 6:46 pm

directmetalmonster wrote:Hey everyone,