The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

4 posters

ST-70 Series 3 Tube Selection. Too Bright.

johprice

ST-70 Series 3 Tube Selection. Too Bright. Empty ST-70 Series 3 Tube Selection. Too Bright.

Post by johprice Mon Jan 31, 2022 2:53 pm

Hello all. I’m new to the Dynaco Forum. Glad there is a place to consult with other owners. A couple of years ago, I purchased an ST-70 Series 3 amplifier. I have Klipschorn speakers, which are known to be on the bright side. I feel that my amplifier is too harsh with highs that are overbearing. Has anyone tried any other tubes that might tame this brassy sound and give a warmer tone over the factory installed JJs?
    peterh
    peterh

ST-70 Series 3 Tube Selection. Too Bright. Empty Re: ST-70 Series 3 Tube Selection. Too Bright.

Post by peterh Mon Jan 31, 2022 2:57 pm

johprice wrote:Hello all. I’m new to the Dynaco Forum. Glad there is a place to consult with other owners. A couple of years ago, I purchased an ST-70 Series 3 amplifier. I have Klipschorn speakers, which are known to be on the bright side. I feel that my amplifier is too harsh with highs that are overbearing. Has anyone tried any other tubes that might tame this brassy sound and give a warmer tone over the factory installed JJs?
    Why don't you turn down your treble control ?
    corndog71
    corndog71

ST-70 Series 3 Tube Selection. Too Bright. Empty Re: ST-70 Series 3 Tube Selection. Too Bright.

Post by corndog71 Mon Jan 31, 2022 6:35 pm