The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

2 posters

Dynaco ST-70 Buzzing in Left Channel

Blue Apple
    Blue Apple

Dynaco ST-70 Buzzing in Left Channel Empty Dynaco ST-70 Buzzing in Left Channel

Post by Blue Apple Wed Apr 17, 2024 12:08 pm

Hi folks!

I was lucky enough to find a completely untouched ST-70 (along with a PAS 3) from the original owner. When I slowly brought it up to life, I noticed a buzzing sound coming out of the left channel. I'm looking for some guidance from you Dynaco gurus. Smile

Preface: I have some experience with guitar tube amps (changed filter caps, setting bias, checking values, etc.), so I know the principles of how a tube amp works; however, I'm not the greatest at troubleshooting.

Here's what I did so far to isolate the issue:

1. Cleaned all tube sockets and pins
    2. Removed ALL tubes and turned it on. - dead quiet.
    3. Plugged the rectifier - dead quiet.
    4. Plugged in EL34s and 7199 in the right channel - Very slight hum.
    5. Removed the right channel tubes and inserted the left channel EL34s and 7199 - Big buzz.
    6. Swapped right and left tubes to rule out a bad tube - buzzing still happening in the left channel.
    7. Checked bias on both channels and adjusted to 1.56v. - No issues.

I realize that I'll have to recap the entire thing sooner rather than later, but I'd love to know what's wrong with the amp before starting to replace parts.

Would anyone be able to steer me towards my next step(s)?

Thanks a million!
    peterh
    peterh

Dynaco ST-70 Buzzing in Left Channel Empty Re: Dynaco ST-70 Buzzing in Left Channel

Post by peterh Wed Apr 17, 2024 1:18 pm

Blue Apple wrote:Hi folks!