The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+6
daveshel
GP49
mazeeff
corndog71
peterh
colin86325
10 posters

newbie with some questions about ST70

colin86325

newbie with some questions about ST70 Empty newbie with some questions about ST70

Post by colin86325 Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:55 am

Hi guys, I've been lurking for a while as I did not have an amp, but I finally bought one from Ebay and decided to join the forum as it has been very helpful.

So, I bought a Dynakit ST70 and have a couple questions.  I hope they aren't too obvious, as i am just a beginner and will probably ask  some dumb questions.  Smile

Here's the front of the amp. I have a couple questions here:

• In the far left corner there is a toggle switch.  What function does this perform?  I couldn't find any similar pictures.  Is this for triode/pentode mode?
    • It looks like I have 2 quad caps.  Is this common? The tube between them seems to be like a relay.

newbie with some questions about ST70 20140401_070311

Here's the label on one of the cans.  it's made by Sprague.
    newbie with some questions about ST70 20140401_070614

Here's a peek underneath.  Looks like two chokes. Is this unusual?  newbie with some questions about ST70 20140401_071418

Here's a couple closer details.  I am wondering whether the dreaded selenium rectifier has been replaced. newbie with some questions about ST70 20140401_071432

newbie with some questions about ST70 20140401_071438

Here is the power transformer.  I know that the original PT could get rather hot.  Is this transformer up to the task of driving KT88, or should it be upgraded?
    newbie with some questions about ST70 20140401_070543

Lastly, the OPT.