The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+2
Kentley
ImFritz
6 posters

VTA ST-120 amp driving B&W CDM 9NT mains

ImFritz

VTA ST-120 amp driving B&W CDM 9NT mains Empty VTA ST-120 amp driving B&W CDM 9NT mains

Post by ImFritz Mon Jan 02, 2017 6:50 pm

First of all Happy Holidays to all.
    Im a newbie here. Been reading though a lot of the forums. As a kid I can remember many a night listening and watching the warm glow of the Dynaco ST-70. My father was a DIY builder nut. He was bitten badly by the endless pursuit of perfect reproduction of sound.
    I cant tell you all the projects he had started using innovative ideas for speaker design and amplification. After all the systems in his life that he changed and bought he ended up going back to his beloved ST-70. He had many modification to his amp that he changed and I can see a lot of his mods that are being used on these amps today. Mind you this is way before the internet and literature of today that is widely available to everyone now. Even with my exposure to his obsessions I am still ignorant to it.
    I ran across this site and saw the VTA products and I now find myself thinking about buying the VTA ST-120.
    Can anyone share your thoughts as to how I would fair driving my B&W CDM 9NT's? I currently have more of a home theater setup
    with my Outlaw 5000 amp 5.1 and using my Anthem MRX-300 as a prepro driving two more channels for 7.1 along with 2 Outlaw Ultra-X12 subs. I know this is comparing apples and oranges but you got to start some where right?

Thanks
    Kentley
    Kentley

VTA ST-120 amp driving B&W CDM 9NT mains Empty Re: VTA ST-120 amp driving B&W CDM 9NT mains