The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

3 posters

Speaker Output Impedance question

Dogstar

Speaker Output Impedance question Empty Speaker Output Impedance question

Post by Dogstar Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:50 pm

I got a pair of SilNote Audio bottom of the line speaker cables today and decided to replace the 12 gauge speaker wire cables that I've been using for the last 4 years with my ST-120. Quite frankly I wanted to believe that high end speaker cables, even if they are the bottom the line speakers cables SilNote Audio markets, could sound like the added expense is worth the money. I don't know if they truly are worth the money but they do improve the sound coming from my speakers. I didn't pay for them so my opinion is not influenced by me wanting to subconsciously convince myself that since they are priced at $800 that they have to sound good.

I also got a SilNote Audio power cable and to me I just don't see how a high priced power cable can improve sound either.

If anyone can tell me why either should make my system sound way better I'd appreciate some feedback.

Anyway...I bought my amp built by Bob Latino and just make sure the normal wiring configuration has it so the speaker outputs are: common (black)  - 4 ohm - 8 ohm?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Dogstar on Sun Mar 11, 2018 10:53 am; edited 2 times in total
    Roy
    Roy

Speaker Output Impedance question Empty Re: Speaker Output Impedance question

Post by Roy Sun Mar 11, 2018 8:51 am