The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+4
avi.inc
baddog1946
JunkyJan
ArlanB
8 posters

ST-120 & Power Tubes

ArlanB
    ArlanB

ST-120 & Power Tubes Empty ST-120 & Power Tubes

Post by ArlanB Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:54 pm

I am a new member to this forum; however I have been using tube audio for more than 45 years.

That said; I have one of the first 3 ST-120 kits from Bob Latino. I am using a Dynaco PAT4 preamp (I know it is not valve equipment but Bob's kit makes it sound incredible). My speakers are Heil AMT10B's purchased new in 1974. The driver tubes on the amp are Mullard NOS 12AT7 and the rectifier is a JJ5AR4/GZ34.

The reason that I have joined this forum is to discuss power tubes. Over the last two and a half years I have gone through three sets of KT88's and am now on my fourth set. The first set was JJKT88's which lasted about nine months before catastrophic tube failure. On the second I splurged and purchased Gold Lion reissues which lasted all of two and one half weeks before catastrophic failure. Then I purchased a set of cryogenically treated ElectroHarmonix KT88's that lasted almost eight months before catastrophic failure. These failures make one uptight about the quality control of these manufacturers.

I was bummed about Russian tubes at this point and had read a lot of conflicting information about Chinese products. So to make along story short I took a chance and invested in a set of Penta Labs KT88SC's from Doug's Tubes. They are the sold plate version manufactured by Shuguang which are touted as being Strict Copies of Genalex Gold Lions. I just could not justify $500.00 for the Treasure series or even worse $1300.00 for EAT's.