The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+8
Peter W.
mark four
Maintarget
Bob Latino
sKiZo
mattg
colin86325
peterh
12 posters

Vintage Dynaco Clinic

Peter W.
    Peter W.

Vintage Dynaco Clinic Empty Vintage Dynaco Clinic

Post by Peter W. Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:51 am

All:

I have been noticing a steady stream of vintage Dynaco questions across the Forum. All the questions good, and some with quite obvious answers to old-hands, not so obvious to those new to the hobby.

I have been working with and around Dynaco products for over 40 years now, tube and solid-state back to the 1970s. I am also fairly seriously into the vintage radio/audio hobby with my oldest (working) example from the 1920s. So I have accumulated a good range of tools and equipment for servicing these beasts.

If there was sufficient interest, I would be willing to give a basic clinic on the care, feeding, diagnosis, servicing and repairing of vintage Dynaco (and contemporary) equipment at my house in Melrose Park (19027) PA. I will be able to test and match output tubes, if needed and I keep a good VOM, LCR and ESR meter as well as a transistor reader for the later equipment. I would be able to demonstrate the basic equipment needed for those who wish to learn such things along with sources and options.

I estimate that such a session would take about an hour to go over the tutorial parts, then whatever time to go over any specific questions and/or check any equipment brought in. Up to 4-5 hours in all. And if I were aware of specific issues in advance, I might be able to prepare for them as well.

There would be no costs or charges from my end.