The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+7
peterh
wgallupe
corndog71
knotscott
New2Tubez
Blitzen
Roy Mottram
11 posters

opiniion survey on amplifier style

Roy Mottram
    Roy Mottram
    Admin

opiniion survey on amplifier style Empty opiniion survey on amplifier style

Post by Roy Mottram Wed Sep 01, 2021 7:35 pm

I've been making these custom amps for a few years now, but I'd like to standardize on the design.
    These layouts are shown using standard Dynaco/VTA transformers, rather than the round toroids.
    (the amps can be built either way, same price, same quality).
    The photo below makes the layout of the upper design with the output tubes staggered
    The 2nd layout at the bottom puts the tubes across in a straight line.
    Let me know your preference.
    BTW, with a steel chassis for the base, this only raises the price of an ST70 or ST120 amp by $50.
    With the wood chassis for the base, the price is $150 above the usual price.
    The photo at the very bottom was a custom ST120 I did about ten years ago.

opiniion survey on amplifier style VTA80

opiniion survey on amplifier style Custom2

opiniion survey on amplifier style ST120b
    Blitzen
    Blitzen

opiniion survey on amplifier style Empty Re: opiniion survey on amplifier style

Post by Blitzen Wed Sep 01, 2021 9:13 pm

I much prefer the "staggered tube" config. Tubes better spaced, so cooler design. Also a cooler design Smile

Roy Mottram, Hops and Simonism like this post

New2Tubez

Post by New2Tubez Wed Sep 01, 2021 10:22 pm

Blitzen wrote:I much prefer the "staggered tube" config. Tubes better spaced, so cooler design. Also a cooler design :)