The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

4 posters

ST70 bias is .56 instead of 1.56

CAEMI

ST70 bias is .56 instead of 1.56 Empty ST70 bias is .56 instead of 1.56

Post by CAEMI Wed Aug 16, 2023 9:08 am

I have owned an ST70 for many years, inherited from my brother in law who built it in the early 60's (I think).

I know nothing about electronics, nothing about tube amps except I'm a guitarist (ex-pro) and have never owned or used anything but tube amps. I've never really had one fail me so I don't have much experience with technicians, nor do I know one that I can turn to. I do own several tube amps that get used only in my home.

I have used it periodically and sometimes used the Dynaco extensively. Recently, I decided to put it back in the stereo system and check the bias. I found it measured .56 on each side.

The chassis says the bias should be 1.56.

Can someone please advise me on this? I don't want to use the amp if it could be harmed and will have it looked at by a tech if need be.

Thank you,

Craig
    Bob Latino
    Bob Latino
    Admin

ST70 bias is .56 instead of 1.56 Empty Re: ST70 bias is .56 instead of 1.56

Post by Bob Latino Wed Aug 16, 2023 5:48 pm

CAEMI wrote:I have owned an ST70 for many years, inherited from my brother in law who built it in the early 60's (I think).

I know nothing about electronics, nothing about tube amps except I'm a guitarist (ex-pro) and have never owned or used anything but tube amps. I've never really had one fail me so I don't have much experience with technicians, nor do I know one that I can turn to. I do own several tube amps that get used only in my home.