The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+4
eickmewg
bluemeanies
deepee99
nmchiefsfan
8 posters

Tubes and the ST-120?

Tubes and the ST-120? Empty Tubes and the ST-120?

Post by Guest Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:01 pm

Has anyone substituted KT-90 tubes in place of the stock 6550 in the ST-120? What do the owners of the ST-120 find to be the best tubes they have installed?
    nmchiefsfan

Tubes and the ST-120? Empty Re: Tubes and the ST-120?

Post by nmchiefsfan Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:41 pm

I have been using the same set of KT-120s in mine for about 5 1/2 years. It is probably time for a new quad as they have around 3000 hours on them but they still sound great to me. I purchased mine from Jim McShane. I still have the original Sovtek KT-88's which also sounded good; but not as good as the KT-120s
    deepee99
    deepee99

Post by deepee99 Sun Feb 18, 2018 10:05 pm

nmchiefsfan wrote:I have been using the same set of KT-120s in mine for about 5 1/2 years.  It is probably time for a new quad as they have around 3000 hours on them but they still sound great to me.  I purchased mine from Jim McShane.  I still have the original Sovtek KT-88's which also sounded good; but not as good as the KT-120s
    I would try the Gold Lion KT-88s, which Jim McShane also stocks. Spendy, but a very nice sound. Also, consider putting your hard-earned $$ into the driver section. That has more influence than the output toobs, IMHO.
    bluemeanies
    bluemeanies

Tubes and the ST-120? Empty Tubes and the ST 120

Post by bluemeanies Sun Feb 18, 2018 10:58 pm

deepee99 wrote: