The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

+6
GP49
avi.inc
davidness
mantha3
ArlanB
TexAus
10 posters

Starting a Tube Collection

TexAus

Starting a Tube Collection Empty Starting a Tube Collection

Post by TexAus Sat Nov 05, 2011 10:26 am

I'm new to the tube world and would like to get some advice on selecting a small variety of tubes to play around with.
    It's my goal to get a small selection of different tubes that will give me an idea of the basic differences in tubes and their sonic character so that I can educate myself in what basic characteristics in a tube I prefer. I would like to stay with tubes that are not astronomically expensive in the beginning. something like the Gold Lion KT88's would probably be the most expensive I would like to go initially, at least until I get an idea of what direction I will go.
    I have heard tubes in the past that had a distinctly 'fuzzy' sound, they reminded me of the old style fuzz boxes some classic rock bands used years ago. I would prefer to stay away from that if possible otherwise I'm open to experimentation.
    Oh yea ....
    Tubes that go up in flames within a few days or weeks are not especially appealing to me either, even if they sound great. (grin)

Oh yea - kinda' important.
    The amp is a ST 120 (Bob's)
    ArlanB
    ArlanB

Starting a Tube Collection Empty Re: Starting a Tube Collection

Post by ArlanB Sat Nov 05, 2011 7:35 pm

TexAus,