The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Dynaco Tube Audio Forum

Dedicated to the restoration and preservation of all original Dynaco tube audio equipment - Customer support for Tubes4hifi VTA tube amp and preamp kits and all Dynakitparts.com products

2 posters

Newbie PAS2 help

zapped1

Newbie PAS2 help Empty Newbie PAS2 help

Post by zapped1 Thu Mar 23, 2023 1:15 pm

Hi all, I'm relatively new to tubes and need some advice on how to diagnose a problem with a Pas2. The left channel does not produce sound and one of the 12AX7 tubes on the PC5 glows much brighter than the other. I'm wondering if it could be related to the selenium rectifier/diodes; I did replace the electrolytic caps with the same values; new PC5 and PC6  boards; new rca kit; cleaned selector switch; checked all wiring/solder joints. The tubes tested in the lower range (waiting for new); rechecked all wiring/ solder joints; deoxit all pots (no scratchiness).
    I'm wanting to test my voltages, but I'm a little hesitant because I've never done this before and thought I'd seek guidance from those of you that have.
    Any and all guidance is truly appreciated. Thanks
    peterh
    peterh

Newbie PAS2 help Empty Re: Newbie PAS2 help

Post by peterh Thu Mar 23, 2023 2:45 pm

zapped1 wrote:Hi all, I'm relatively new to tubes and need some advice on how to diagnose a problem with a Pas2. The left channel does not produce sound and one of the 12AX7 tubes on the PC5 glows much brighter than the other. I'm wondering if it could be related to the selenium rectifier/diodes; I did replace the electrolytic caps with the same values; new PC5 and PC6  boards; new rca kit; cleaned selector switch; checked all wiring/solder joints. The tubes tested in the lower range (waiting for new); rechecked all wiring/ solder joints; deoxit all pots (no scratchiness).